A Word from India (Lisa Here)

So today has been a good day. Today I helped feed Riley for the first time and got to burp her. She and her sister are so beautiful and both have completely different temperaments.  Riley is quiet and rarely gets out of sorts. Even when she is bothered, she merely squeaks a bit and then settles down. Kelsey on the other hand is more about getting the attention and if waving hands and feet don’t get it then wailing does. She likes to make noise and get noticed.

I know most babies have blue eyes but today I got to see our daughter’s blue eyes trying to focus on me. Kelseys are bright light blue and Riley’s are darker blue. I cannot wait till they start staying awake more so we can interact. Just holding them is amazing, they are so small but so feisty in their own way. Both are doing excellent for their 31 week debut.

I must say here and now that even though there have been complications with the administration of the hospital, the doctors and nurses have been excellent and so compassionate.  I know my babies are in good hands medically.

Brian went out tonight and got congratulated by all his friends and got to unwind. I have to admit, I was jealous. Then he reminded me that I got to hold our girls and love on them. He was right, I got the better end of the bargain. I wish he would get here. I miss him and I feel like he is missing so much even though our girls are in the NICU. He is my rock, he keeps me calm when my world feels like chaos. Right now my world is chaos and I feel a bit lost without him. Funny part is that anyone who knows Brian, knows he is not a calm guy. But when I need him he is. 

I will know more tomorrow about the hospital and what they will allow with us. I am hoping that with the letters and official requests they will allow us to move forward and claim our girls.

 

Lisa

Subscribe to Switzertwins’s Weblog by Email

4 Responses to “A Word from India (Lisa Here)”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Congratulations on the birth of your beautiful daughters! Brian posted on our blog and we will be arriving in Mumbai on June 28th! Please contact me at llerre@comcast.net! We would love to meet and talk with you!

    (The Other) Lisa

  2. switzertwins Says:

    Thanks other Lisa! I am so in love with my little girls! By the time you get here we will hopefully be out of the hospital and getting ready to go back home, but if time permits, I would love to meet you!

    Lisa

  3. Jake & Charlotte Rohrich Says:

    Brian & Lisa,

    Congratulations on the arrival of your two baby girls. How exciting! Twins! We’re so happy for you.

    Our computer has been down since receiving the wonderful news from Brian’s dad, so today was the first chance we’ve had to read the “incredible journey” the two of you have gone through to get to this rewarding time in your life. Your desire and determination to become parents is truly amazing. What an inspiration you are to others!

    Again, Congratulations on your two miracles. May God bless all of you with a healthy and happy life.

    Sincerely,
    Jake & Charlotte Rohrich

    P.S. We look forward to reading more about the adventures of your new family.

  4. switzertwins Says:

    Hello Jake and Charlotte! So good to hear from you! It has been a journey, to say the least, but worth every minute, every tear, every dime. Thank you for the well wishes and updates will come more often when I get to India.


Leave a Reply

