I made it!!

Leaving San Antonio, there was a 2 hour delay as Newark had no place for us to land. So belly, meet bar! When we did finally take off, we held over D.C. for an hour, then made our approach into Newark. Once in Newark, after our plane getting hit by lightning, and several other “thumb inserted into certain orrifice” moments, I had a 15 hour layover in Newark. We were supposed to leave Newark at 830pm Saturday..We left at 9am or so on Sunday.

Not Happy…

When I arrived in India, I made my way through immigration easy enough, but in customs, after getting my checked baggage which included 2 car seats, I was told that I was over my dollar limit as to what I could bring into India. after being led to some small office, away from everyone, I was told it would be $50 US for the extras. I asked for a receipt and he told me if I get a receipt it would be $100 US.. Fleeced, for sure, and I will tell the Embassy when we see them today.. But hey, I’m here to see my 3 girls!

When I walked out of the terminal, there was Lisa holding a sign for me.

We get to the hotel, I grab a shower, because I’m sure I reeked of airport floor from sleeping in Newark.. and I go see my babies. I was not prepared for just how small they are. I have to view them through a window and their tiny heads are no bigger than my fist. I was worried, because normally a baby that small would be sickly, but Lisa assured me that are healthy and fiesty. I believe her.

So while the twins are in the NICU, I can only see them through glass for 4 minutes a day. I’ll take it for now. We were told that they are going to try to move them into a regular room in the next couple of days. Then I can finally hold my baby girls.

Internet is sporadic at best, but I’ll try to keep the updates coming.

5 Responses to “I made it!!”

  1. Heather Says:

    Yay you finally made it and put us poor saps out of our pins and needle misery waiting to hear from you. Sorry about the rough flight but we all know you excel at sitting around with your thumb up an orifice. I love you all and can’t wait to see ya’ll!

    Auntie Heather

  2. Dan Says:

    Wow – great sign Lisa made & glad you finally made it thru the flight hiccups. Super to read your first impressions of seeing your new daughters. I, too, can’t wait for them to get out of the NICU. I know you’ll be crying for joy (I know I would!).

    Good luck and Godspeed with all the politcal posturing between the Doctors, the “Attorney General”, the Embassy folks, & you guys… We’ll be praying and pulling for ya’!

    Laters, Dan

    P.S. – Susan can’t wait for you to get back & on the phone… 😉

  3. Rebecca Says:

    Welcome Poppa Brian!

  4. Tracy Says:

    Hi brian, congrulation!! It is so interesting to read yr blog.

    We are in kind of situation as you, would like to ask you some more questions if you don.t mind, is it possible for you to give us your email address?

  5. Vivek Sakhrani Says:

    Brian is a champ! I hung out with him at the Newark airport and he always had a smile on his face.

    Brian, I’m glad you are with your family again. Let me know when y’all are back in Texas.


Leave a Reply

