Ouch, that smarted….

Ok, so Lisa and I decided that we really did need a second car after all..and we felt an SUV would suit our needs better than another sedan would. So we went and purchased a 2009 Jeep Patriot. And I liked the lil ‘Riot..and was happily driving along on April 3rd, exactly one day after making my first payment on it..Yep, you guessed it..whammo!! I was sitting on the off-ramp bridge from Loop 1604 to get onto I-10 East. Sitting dead still, no movement at all. I glance up in my rear view mirror and see nuttin’ but grill..SLAM!! A massive furniture delivery truck slammed into me at about 60 mph..Glass flew everywhere, the collision causing a very loud sound and me, seatbelt and all, being flung around the driver’s seat. I take stock off myself for a moment, thanking God that Riley was sleeping when I left so I didn’t bring her with me.
I survived it, the lil ‘Riot took the shot like a champ. I’m all beat up, in physical therapy for back and neck pain.. But looks at these pics..tell me that you’re not surprised that the Jeep handled such a hard shot..Bad news..it was totalled…

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

So now, it’s totalled and I’m having to come up with another down payment because Traveller’s Insurance will only pay off my Jeep, no more for inconvienence. So we go shopping. And we find exactly what I would have wanted, although used, in perfect shape.. A 2006 Jeep Commander Limited! Complete with 4.7L V8 and towing package. In-dash Satellite Radio, Navigation, 6 Disc CD/MP3 player and a fold down DVD system for Riley. It has 3rd row seating, power everything, leather everywhere and 1 sunroof and 2 skylights for Riley. Lisa found it and I couldn’t ask for more.. Best part? The payments are $100 less per month than the 2009 Jeep Patriot..and all it had was satellite radio. So yes friends, even in the face of “can’t we catch a break-ness” there can be a silver lining. I just thank God and Lisa that we had gap insurance.
Here’s my baby..

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

5 Responses to “Ouch, that smarted….”

  1. Heather Says:

    Dang, Brian! I’m so glad it didn’t injure you worse than it did. Nice car, though! I like the new one too! I’m still driving the van I was hit in and it’s got straps holding the rear trunk closed. POS! Glad you had the coverage that you did. Now you be big pimpin’.

  2. Tex Says:

    Glad that you’re OK, bud, and that the Lil One wasn’t with you. Looks like you got a nice upgrade! Hard way to go about it, though! LOL

  3. Jessie Says:

    Wow thats scary! Glad you are ok. Love the new car. Great color!

  4. Mike A. Says:

    OUCH!

    Glad you are okay, Glad Riley was not with you, glad Lisa was not with you…now what about geting the furniture store to fork over the cash for totaling your SUV?

    Mike and I are in the same boat…we’re gonna need another car. The truck fits the car seats, but we need something more practical.

    Mike A.

  5. Heather R. Says:

    Lisa,
    You gonna enter my giveaway?! You so should!


Leave a Reply

